Last Faerie Queen bannerHello Readers

Welcome to my stop on The Last Faerie Queen Blog Tour. Today I have for you my review and a tour wide GIVEAWAY. You can check out the tour schedule by clicking on the banner above!

Title: THE LAST FAERIE QUEEN Last Faerie Queen
Author: Chelsea Pitcher
Release Date: November 8, 2015
Pages: 408
Publisher: Flux
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

A FAERIE REVOLUTION . . .

After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with the Bright Queen, Elora rallies her people for a battle aimed at overthrowing her mother, the Dark Queen. While some question their ability to win, Elora senses victory, knowing she has a secret weapon: Taylor, the human boy she loves, and a motley crew of his school friends, each armed with a skill that can turn the tide of the coming battle.

A MORTAL SACRIFICE . . .

But then Elora’s supporters in the Dark Court turn on her, believing she has forsaken them in favor of humans. When the Dark Queen kidnaps two of her human friends, Elora must mount a daring rescue mission to free them before her mother offers them up as a sacrifice.

My Review

The story picks up where The Last Changeling left off and Taylor and his friends are now in Faerie in the Seelie Court which they imagine to be safer and better. Is it?

I must say I enjoyed this a bit more than the The Last Changeling because I felt like in that book, the really great scenes took place in the last few pages.

In this book, The Last Faerie Queen, we get to see Elora as she really is and she is much more complex a character than one initially would have thought. Being in Faerie lays bare all of the characters’ feelings ; their fears, hopes , dreams and most notably what they are all capable of, and they theselves are stunned and even repulsed by what is revealed.

Nothing is as unambiguous as dark or light, Seelie or Unseelie and Taylor and his friends will learn this the hard way. Stripped of the facade, the simularities between courts is eye-opening!

I loved the dark and gritty, sometimes violent feel of this novel! Call me sick but I like my books with a bit of blood and gore and this book delivered it beautifully while balancing it with lighter moments of the budding romance between the two main characters. That being said, this is not for the faint-hearted and definitely not for younger readers. I,however, relished the gruesome moments , they were my favourite parts.

I liked the peeling away of layers to expose the truth behind both courts and in the end I  thought they were more similar than different and I couldn’t help but sympathise with the Unseelie Queen. She was my favourite character, I was intrigued and curious about what caused her metamorphosis.

I’m not soo sure that I liked the ending but there was a twist I didn’t see coming so that’s always good in my book.

If you like your faerie tales with a danger scenes  mixed with light romance, this is a must read! Fans of Melissa Marr’ Wicked Lovely series and Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series would love this.

My Rating

4 stars

About Chelsea:
ChelseaPitcherChelsea Pitcher is a karaoke-singing, ocean-worshipping Oregonian with a penchant for wicked faerie tales. She began gobbling up stories as soon as she could read, and especially enjoys delving into the darker places to see if she can draw out some light. She is the author of THE S-WORD (Simon and Schuster), THE LAST CHANGELING (Flux), and THE LAST FAERIE QUEEN (Flux 2015).
Website | Twitter |Facebook | Blog | Goodreads | Tumblr

Giveaway

Giveaway Details:
2 winners will receive a signed finished copy of THE LAST FAERIE QUEEN ( US/Canada Only)

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

This Tour organized by:

http://Follow my blog with Bloglovin