Title: Catch Me When You Fall catch me when i fall
Author: Vicki Leigh
Genre: Ya, Paranormal, Fantasy
Pulication Date: Oct 23, 2014
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press.
I was given a copy by the publisher Curiosity Quills Press for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary:

In 1814, at the age of seventeen, Daniel Graham sacrificed himself to save another. Recruited at his death to be a Protector of the Night, he has spent 200 years as a Dreamcatcher, guarding humans from Nightmares—clawed, red-eyed creatures that feed off people’s fears while they sleep. He’s become one of the best, but he wants nothing more than to stop.

Then he’s given an assignment to watch over sixteen-year-old Kayla Bartlett, a clinically depressed patient in a psychiatric ward. Nightmares love a human with a tortured past. Yet, when they take a deep interest in her, appearing in unprecedented numbers, the job becomes more dangerous than any Daniel’s ever experienced—because someone with the power to control the monsters seems to want her dead.

Driven by his growing feelings for her, he whisks her away to Rome where others like him can keep her safe. Under their roof, the Protectors discover what Kayla is and why someone who can manipulate Nightmares has her in his sights. But before they can make a move, the Protectors are betrayed and Kayla is kidnapped. Daniel will stop at nothing to save her. Even if it means giving up his immortality.

He thought she was just another girl to protect. He was wrong.

My Review

This book takes a popular YA concept, adds a twist and  some unique elements to it, and makes it into something quite intriguing that had me turning the pages and delving into this world.

Enter a world where Nightmares are very much real. These creatures are responsible for the bad dreams . Have no fear, because there are those who fight them off called Dreamcatchers, working in concert with others called Dreamweavers who replace these bad dreams with much nicer ones so that one can get a good night’s rest.

It has always been this way but it seems things are about to change as the number of Nightmares attacking one young lady is out of the ordinary. What is so special about this particular human?

In a twist which I found interesting, the main character is male but he isn’t the one with the special powers. Instead, we have Kayla who is being protected from an abnormal number of increasingly vicious Nightmares , alerting us to the fact that there is something special about her.

The characters, main and supporting were well developed and the plot though somewhat simplistic , moves along at a steady pace , interspersed with battles between the Dreamcatchers and  the Nightmares and a few other baddies. The main character, Daniel is very likeable and I admire his ability to take things in stride.

My favourite parts were the fighting scenes of course! I love the whole ‘good against evil’ theme even though I’m not above rooting for the bad guy if he’s cool . I wasn’t a fan of the romance because I thought it led to some rash  decision making on Daniel’s part and seemed to dominate the storyline for too long.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. Even though the twists were predictable and the insta-love romance bugged me, it didn’t take away too much from my overall enjoyment of the book and I am looking forward to the second book (already loaded and waiting on my Kobo), which I have a feeling would work out the kinks in this one.

If you’re looking for a fun, action packed, good guys against bad guys, demon bashing heroes and heroines filled novel, don’t hesitate to pick this one up!

My Rating

3 1_2

Recommendation

Fans of The Mortal Instuments series and Poet Anderson…Of Nightmares should enjoy this too!

http://Follow my blog with Bloglovin