Inside the Book:


Girls' Weekend
Title: Girls’ Weekend
Author: Cara Sue Achterberg
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Publisher: The Story Plant
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Format: Ebook/Paperback

Dani, Meg, and Charlotte have bonded over babies, barbeques, and backyards, but when they escape for a girls’ weekend away, they can’t bring themselves to return to lives that don’t seem to fit anymore.

Harried Dani can’t explain why she feels so discontented until she meets a young gallery owner who inspires her to rediscover the art that once made her happy.

Dependable Meg faces up to a grief that threatens to swallow her whole and confronts a marriage built on expectations.

Flamboyant Charlotte, frustrated with her stagnated life and marriage, pursues a playboy Irish singer and beachside business opportunities.

All three of these women thought they would be different. None of them thought they’d be facing down forty and still wondering when life starts. What they do when they realize where they’re headed is both inspiring and wildly entertaining.

GIRLS’ WEEKEND is a fun, yet poignant romp through the universal search of who we are, why we love, and what makes us happy by an author who is quickly emerging as one of our most incisive storytellers.

 

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpgB&N

My Review

This novel is so enjoybale because as a woman, a wife and a mother, I could relate with so many aspects of the character’s lives and recognised some of their personality traits in myseflf.

After going on a girls’ weekend trip. the three friends Meg, Charlotter and Anni realise they are not so satisfied with their lives as others and even they had thought. They decide to extend their stay to try to sort out how they feel, the source of their dissatisfaction and if and how they can fix it. They need to find out individually where they want their lives to go and how they going to get there. Whey they finally resolve to return hom after a terrified phoone call from Meg’s husband, their lives will have been irrevocalby changed.

The characters really shine through in thie book and I think every woman would recognise some piece of herself in these characters, regardless of thier stage or station in life. This was my first Cara Sue Achterberg book but it wil not be the last. I hope she will write a follow-up to Girl’s Weekend to satisfy this reader’s curiosity about the direction the girls’ lives took afer getting back home. I highly recommend this book to all women and think it will be a perfect summer read!

My Rating

5 hearts

Meet the Author:

Cara Sue

 

Cara Sue Achterberg is a writer and blogger who lives in New Freedom, PA with her family and an embarrassing number of animals. Her first novel, I’m Not Her, was a national bestseller. Cara’s nonfiction book, Live Intentionally, is a guide to the organic life filled with ideas, recipes, and inspiration for living a more intentional life. Cara is a prolific blogger, occasional cowgirl, and busy mom whose essays and articles have been published in numerous anthologies, magazines, and websites. Links to her blogs, news about upcoming publications, and pictures of her foster dogs can be found at CaraWrites.com.

 

———————

Tour Schedule

 Monday, May 2 – Book featured at Harmonious Publicity
Tuesday, May 3 -Interviewed at The Review From Here
Wednesday, May 4 – Book featured at Chosen By You Book Club
Thursday, May 5 – Book featured at What Is That Book About
Friday, May 6 – Interviewed at Literal Exposure
________
Monday, May 9 – Book featured at The Dark Phantom
Tuesday, May 10 – Interviewed at I’m Shelf-ish
Wednesday, May 11 – Excerpt featured at My Bookish Pleasures
Thursday, May 12 – Book featured at A Taste of My Mind
________
Monday, May 16 – Interviewed at The Writer’s Life 
Wednesday, May 18 – Book featured at As the Page Turns
________
Monday, May 23 – Book reviewed at Books and Needlepoint
Tuesday, May 24 – Book featured at A Title Wave
Wednesday, May 25 – Guest blogging at Straight From the Author’s Mouth
Thursday, May 26 – Book featured at The Literary Nook
________
Monday, June 6 – Book featured at The Bookworm Lodge
Tuesday, June 7 – Book featured at Celticlady’s Reviews
Wednesday, June 8 – Guest blogging at The Noise Beneath the Apple
________
Monday, June 13 – Book reviewed at Booklover Sue
Tuesday, June 14 – Book reviewed at Whispering Stories
Wednesday, June 15 – Book featured at Voodoo Princess
Thursday, June 16 – Guest blogging at Write and Take Flight
________
Monday, June 20 – Book reviewed at Natural Bri
Tuesday, June 21 – Book featured at Authors and Readers Book Corner
Wednesday, June 22 – Book reviewed at I’m Shelf-ish
Thursday, June 23 – Book featured at Book Cover Junkie
Friday, June 24 – Book reviewed at Deal Sharing Aunt
________
Monday, June 27 – Book reviewed at Cover2Cover
Tuesday, June 28 – Book reviewed at Book Babble
Wednesday, June 29 – Book reviewed at Laura’s Interests
Book reviewed at The Phantom Paragrapher
Thursday, June 30 – Book reviewed at Curling Up By the Fire
Book reviewed at Live Love Books Blog
________